Home » #49 Boston, MA, USA

#49 Boston, MA, USA

Where:  MIT
When:  8-12 June 2009
Host:  Daniel Jackson

Venue:  Kendall Hotel

Daniel Jackson took some pictures from the meeting, and Rajeev Joshi took these pictures.

Topics of discussion

  • Peter Müller (with Rustan Leino)
    A basis for verifying multi-threaded programs
  • William Cook (et al.)Peter Henderson, Peter Müller, Gary Leavens
    Slice, Partition and Reforestation for Data Access and Distribution
  • Pamela Zave
    Two great products of MIT:  Reasoning about Chord with Alloy
  • Michael Butler
    Structured Event Refinement [slides]
  • Ioannis T. Kassios
    Theories as Specifications
  • Daniel Jackson and Eunsuk Kang
    Dependence and dependability
  • Bertrand Meyer (with Emmanuel Stapf and Alexander Kogtenkov)
    Avoid a void
  • Bill McKeeman
    Can a tiny compiler-compiler grow into something useful?
  • Peter Müller (with Rustan Leino)
    A Chalice example
  • Rustan Leino (with Peter Müller)
    Locks, channels, deadlock freedom, progress [slides]
  • Peter Henderson
    Modular reasoning about open architectures [slides]
  • Annabelle McIver
    Program development with Secure Refinement
  • Rajeev Joshi
    Analyzing telemetry logs
  • Armando Solar-LezamaGary Leavens, Doug McIlroy, Ernie Cohen, Pamela Zave, Rustan Leino
    A Quick Introduction to Sketching
  • Ernie Cohen
    Verifying Concurrency in C
  • Mark Utting (with John Cleary)
    JStar: A Declarative Language for a Parallel World
  • Gary T. Leavens
    Preventing Cross-Type Aliasing to Promote Weak Behavioral Subtyping
  • Shriram Krishnamurthi (et al.)


  • Michael Butler (vice chair)
  • Ernie Cohen
  • William Cook (observer)
  • Peter Henderson
  • Daniel Jackson (host)
  • Michael Jackson
  • Rajeev Joshi (observer)
  • Yannis Kassios (observer)
  • Shriram Krishnamurthi
  • Butler Lampson
  • Gary Leavens
  • Rustan Leino (secretary)
  • Doug McIlroy
  • Annabelle McIver
  • Bill McKeeman
  • Bertrand Meyer
  • Peter Müller
  • Joe Near (local observer)
  • Derek Rayside (local observer)
  • Michel Sintzoff
  • Armando Solar-Lezama (local observer)
  • Mark Utting
  • Pamela Zave (chair)